My Rock Hill Double Down

Had this amazing idea to do both the MAC Crit and the Rock Hill XC race on the same weekend. I’ve never done two different events back to back, but really wanted to support both. I took it easy most of the week and I think it paid off.

I most certainly did not ride smart the whole beginning of this race. I was hell bent on trying to keep it fast and make a break. A couple times I had a go but it just didn’t happen. A break of 3 went up the road and we chased it back with 3 or 4 to go? I go into the sprint as the third wheel and surprisingly, no one attacks the big hill. I’m 50/50 if I should have, but Austin was putting out a solid enough tempo that I didn’t want to. Take a good defensive line on the corner, then wait… which felt like forever. I for sure thought I was too close to the front at this point, but at some point I figure it’s now or never. I feel like I get a good jump, but I notice over my left shoulder that I’m dead as the winner, Juan, is easily doing 3mph faster than me, and I roll across for second. Kind of bummed to lose by that much, but I think I did the right thing in the right situation.

I try and spin around a little bit more than normal, I’m really unsure how my body is going to recover, or what I should and shouldn’t do, I’m really flying blind during this time.

Try to get a solid nights sleep, but Lucas decides to poop at 2AM. Joy.

Arrive earlier than normal and pre ride the first half of the course, which is the same as I remember. A little dew which would burn off, but I don’t feel horrible. I do feel weird that only 2 other people are racing in my category, but that’s racing. Thankfully they let all the Cat 1’s go off at once, so that’s fun.

Here is the first 12 minutes of the first lap, I was dropped by the leaders and really nothing interesting to see at that point sadly.

I find my battle is with Brandon Hicks, who has been doing the series. We chat for a tad and he has marked me, so lets battle. I find that after lap 1, I don’t feel horrible. I’m hammering out the climbs and flat sections, and opening gaps to Brandon and one other 40+ rider behind him. It almost seems like the 40+ rider is working for him, which is interesting. At the beginning of lap 2 I come into the first bit of ST with a gap, but then dump my bike and take a spill. Fart noise. The duo of them passes me and now I chase back on, after I pick up my GoPro off the ground.


The gravel climb back up to the start/finish.

About 5 minutes later I’m back on their wheels and challenge Brandon up a short gravel climb, which he then says “after you”. Interesting, I think. I’m pretty cooked from the chase of them, so I’m happy to ride the ST at my pace. The next two laps we are locked together, and Brandon and I chat for a little. He mentions that he dropped his bottle on the last lap and hates wearing packs. I tell him I only wear packs now for racing, not worth the risk. Says he gets too hot. Well, that just reminds me to drill it when we pass his water bottle station table thingy, to put some more pressure on him. At the end of the third lap and the climb back up to the road course, I push it and see he actually stopped this time to grab a bottle. Well this is going to work for me, if I still have legs.

The course twists back on it self so I can do some time checks, and it seems that I have over 30 seconds. I keep my shit together and just keep moving forward to beat Brandon by about 5 minutes.

Screen Shot 2019-07-29 at 8.53.53 AM.png
Far from my best effort in terms of racing, but I was gassed the whole time. I’m happy that I’m old enough to race the 30-39 category and not with the real big dogs.

Needless to say, Monday morning I feel like I got hit by a truck. I guess I may be getting older and those crashes add up a little?

Leave a comment