Fair Hill – Cat 1 19-29

Packed up the wheels for swapping out the tires. I just swapped the ones that were on the SS onto the Scalpel. The front Wolverine swapped and sealed fine, but I had a little bit of trouble trying to get the rear to seat. Well it would seat, but the valve would leak, bad. I tried for a good hour at work until I finally said F this and bothered Larry at Halters. He retaped the rim and it worked fine.

Needless to say, all this stress and annoyance made me want to do nothing but relax. Which killed my steak for July. Which I’m okay with. I came home and thought about what I would do to ride, and nothing seemed to excite me. So that is over.

Saturday
Woke up nice and late and rolled out from home to Six Mile. Just did the Canal side to test the tires out with Mandi. All worked well. Larry handled dat! Bike feels good on the tires I’m familiar with and I don’t think I missed the Racing Ralph at all.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/199120392

Sunday, Sunday!
Mandi was NOT happy to be waking up at 5am for Fair Hill. Sadly it was her choice to do this race! Saw a car accident on the way in the middle of 95. Not a good morning for somebody!

Saw Dana and Bill and Larry the CPuncher getting ready for the 50. May the force be with them!

Hung around until the Endurance racers went off with Mandi, Jocelyn and Monte. I Got geared up to watch Mandi and the rest of the Cat 2’ers take off. There was a crash at the beginning of the 30-39’s that was pretty nasty. Mandi heads off 2nd to last on the prologue, just like usual.

So now I’m rolling around by myself. Didn’t want to warm up TOO much, but didnt need to explode. Saw some kid (less than 12 years old) knock over the Road Closed sign by accident. He just kept rolling around. Another kid the same age rode over and picked up and fixed it. I was close so I went over too and said “You are a good kid.” Feel like I made his day.

On the road I was warming up I could see where part of the course was and people were gathering. I hung around and saw Mandi come through. She let me know her front wheel was loose, again. WTF?! Can’t figure out whats going on with that. By this time it’s just about time to line up.

The start goes off and I’m maybe third/fourth from the back. Over 20 people in our class. I know how this road starts and I’m content with sucking wheels. Well actually it was sucking dust. It was so damn dusty and I couldn’t see a damn thing. I was just praying someone didn’t pile up. I had my eyes closed part of the time. I felt in control and not out of my element at this point. We head into the ST and I’m still with this little group of 4-5 people. Has to be 10-15th at this point? Cool. Someone already flatted so +1 for me. I feel at home at this terrain and It plays into my favor. The ground was a tad dry and the potential for washing out was high. Not worth taking the risks at this point. We head over the first water crossing with a little wooden bridge. I can hear everyone slowing up and we catch up to everyone riding over this bridge. One guy goes around the bridge which is another 10 feet additional trail, but a safer bet. I take this way and end up losing that 2-3 bike lengths I needed. Darn. I reel the group back in a little, but it hurts.

It seems like 45 minutes into the race I’m finally feeling it. I figure out my gearing, I figured out my pace and I’m just chugging along. I know people are behind me, as well as the other categories, and no one has passed me yet. This is a huge accomplishment for me, minor for ya’ll. I actually start picking off people that went too hot in the beginning. What? This is new. I pass a couple of people and actually make it stick.

Each water station I take a nice sip of water an dump the rest on my back.

Feelsgoodmannnnn

The first obstacle after the first water stop is a steep hike a bike section. I’m behind someone and say “Many my GF is 4’11, she was probably PISSED!” The volunteer laughs and said she actually crushed this section. Must ask.

I come up to the super twisty section that I remember from last years race. I sit in behind someone from my class and just get my shit together. Nice and easy, reminds me of the Six Mile-ish section of CR on top of the lookout. Rooty, twisty and fast. I could go faster, but I’m just pacing dudeman. This guy I’m pacing stinks on the downhills, so I wait until a safe spot comes up and make a move. It was a good move with a little but of a climb, followed by a nice downhill. Don’t see him again. Fyeah.

Couple of these climbs before the sport/expert split were rough. I’m using the people around me to judge the pace/gearing and I feel good. All systems are working at their best potential. I’m not hammering up these climbs, but maintaining. Feel good.

We come up to the split for Expert and Sport and We head right. I knew we were close, but the next 7 miles brought rumors of big hills. I turn right and look up and BAM. Here it is. This is a long one. Once again I pace myself and make it top the top.

I’ve been battling with one guy back and forth at this point. He has a great pace going uphill and I try to match it, but I can’t do it for too long. I would pass him on the DH and he would catch and pass on the uphill.

Eventually I start losing steam around mile 23. I can’t keep it together anymore and have to slow down. I get chicked by the Elite Women winner, which I was hoping to avoid. Meh!

I lose 2-3 spots while this meltdown occurs, but I still have a race on me. Still the climbing/spinning guy I was pacing earlier (I think) I have one last little kick in me. I hammer myself up this one little climb and open up a little bit of a gap. The trail then merges with the Cat 2 class, making a mess of whos who. I’m able to put 2-3 Cat 2’ers between me and dude. I give any last bit I have left of me on the last slight uphill to open up whatever gap I could hold. The road goes downhill and then the slight uphill over the bridge to the finish. I don’t see him anymore and cruise in.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/199721661

I finished 15th out of 20, which is big for me. I felt like I raced a good race and stayed within my limits. I should have raced this way at the Six Pack :p

Met Mandi, Forrest and Monte at the finish line and hear the stories from them. Some good food afterwards and Mandi won a cycling cap! Woo!

Leave a comment