Riding a singlespeed is rough. Mandi wanted to ride CR so I figured I would keep the wheels moving on this singlespeed up there. Ran into woodsters group and headed out.

Man, CR is rough. Or is my Scalpel just that nice to ride here? I’ve unlearned a lot of singlespeed skills over the past year. It is really hard to keep the flow going uphill on the SS with the babyheads. I don’t really miss this. If this is how Stewart was, I wouldn’t even think about this race :p

I get hung up on a couple of spots I would normally clear with gears, mostly because to momentum lost. It seemed like I kept falling in the cracks and getting jammed up. Gave more props to woody and Schilling for riding these things all the time. I say out loud up a climb “I’m not cut out for this shit anymore! Not sure how I did it for so long. Woody reminded me “you used to be!”

Eventually over on the IMBA trail I hear some creaking that sounds like the BB is moving, I keep pressing on and eventually my (Jay’s) chain snaps. Woops. Woody saves the day and we are able to make it back to the lot without any issues.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/303282787

That’s five rides in a row for Mandi, which may be a record, we would have to go back to the books to look. I think she is going for six, because she made me take her helmet, bike and shoes out of the car today. I’m curious if I could top my record of 10 in a row this year. :hmmm: The hardest part is for sure keeping up with the laundry.

All the thoughts of putting a harder gear on here went out the window from this ride…. But then I remembered that the trail network and race course is buffed compared to CR. Then I remembered how fast Stewart was. Then I realized I am going to put a harder gear on. #YOLO. Mentally this was rough on my SS psyche (spelling?) but I think it did me some good.

No pictures, but I’m good for it. I promise.

Leave a comment